it starts with an earthquake

I’m still making my way through Stardust and basically every-Sherlock-fanfic-known to man, so instead of a book review I bring you:

The Three Best Books about the Apocalypse

(because everyone loves the end of the world)

Good Omens, by Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman. An angel that runs a used book shop, but refuses to sell any books. A demon that didn’t “fall, so much as saunter vaguely downwards.” Footnotes. The four horsemen. Ineffability. My book kinks, let me show them to you.

image from blogs.cdc.gov

World War Z, by Max Brooks. An oral history is a brilliant concept for documenting the apocalypse; it allows for short vignettes that move quickly and don’t require much in the way of over-arching structure. There’s an incredible scope here, stories from all over the world, which the author doesn’t try to force together.

image from Amazon.com

Robopocalypse, by Daniel H. Wilson. We all know in the back of our minds that one day, the machines may rise against us. This book is the most chilling, perfect example of it that I’ve ever read (and believe me when I say that I’ve read a lot of robot science fiction). The genius lies in the incredible details; it’s not hard to imagine the machines taking over our cars or home security systems, after all. Using electronic, web-equipped children’s toys to spy on us is a whole new level of creepy. And brilliant.
Which way would you say the world ends? In fire? Ice? Aliens living inside the Earth? Let me know.

Leave a Reply

