Birchbox review, October 2012

 

from Birchbox.com

This month's Birchbox was a partnership with goop.com, Gwyneth Paltrow's lifestyle website. Goop is full of recipes, travel guides, and fashion advice, so I was excited to see what would be in their theme box.

-Lulu Organics | Lavender + Clary Sage Hair Powder, full size $30. I'm a big fan of dry shampoo, but I prefer the spray. This powder was awkward to work through my curly hair, and I massively dislike the smell of lavender.

-Karuna | Hydrating Treatment Masks, pack of 4 $28. This was the first time that I've used a sheet mask, and the whole “peeled off face” appearance of it was a little…odd. It smelled delicious and left my skin feeling soft, but honestly, not any better than my usual moisturizer. I couldn't see where using it once a week would be beneficial.

– Embryolisse | Lait-Creme Concentre, full size $16. I'm really on the fence about this cream lotion. It was very rich and thick, and while it didn't actually leave my skin feeling sticky to the touch, it felt sticky on my face, if that makes any sense. It also took forever to absorb. I certainly wouldn't use it on a daily basis, but it's not too expensive, and I could see using it as a deep treatment.

-Naked Princess | Naked Shine Luscious Lip Gloss, full size $26. This was a great sheer gloss with a tiny, tiny bit of shimmer. It's one of the only glosses I've tried that wasn't unpleasantly sticky, and it both smelled and tasted delicious. Sweet, almost like a sugar cookie. This is one I might consider buying the full size.

Luna | Lemonzest Bar, pack of 15, $18.75. This was the Lifestyle Extra, and I was extra pleased to find it in my box, largely because I was really hungry when it was delivered. I'm a big Luna fan, although the LemonZest wasn't a particular favorite. I adore lemon, but the flavor in a lot of foods reminds me of Fruity Pebbles cereal, which doesn't do a whole lot for me.

What'd you think of this month's Birchbox? Loved it? Hated it? I'd love to hear!

 

Leave a Reply

