Birchbox, May 2012

from Birchbox.com

This month’s Birchbox was the ultra-exciting Gossip Girl box, “inspired by the series and Manhattan’s chicest events.” Knowing that, I was fairly disappointed to open my box and find several items that didn’t really live up to the idea of Gossip Girl & its ultra-high fashion, luxe nature.

  1. Twistband Skinny Headband in Yellow– this is a cute little elastic headband, and I like it, but honestly, can you picture Blair or Serena in a bright yellow, elastic headband? I can’t.
  2. Color Club Polish in Disco Nap– tried this last night, and was impressed by the consistency and coverage. It’s a very high-impact, sparkly gold color.
  3. Arquiste L’Etrog Perfume– Supposedly, “This transporting scent will take you to an exotic Mediterranean cabin built out of palm leaves and foraged branches. Beneath these opening woodsy notes hovers a bright base of Etrog citron, which is native to Calabria, plus lush date and fragrant myrtle.” This was the most Gossip Girl-esque item I received; both for the price tag ($165 a bottle), and the unique, luxurious scent. Usually I go for something more feminine, and I wasn’t sure about it after putting it on, but having worn it for a while, I enjoyed how different it was.
  4. Dr. Jart+ Water Fuse Beauty Balm– A combination tinted moisturizer, sunscreen, treatment serum, this should have been my favorite product. Instead, I tried it once and threw it out. It felt heavy on my skin, and rather than leaving my skin looking “dewy,” like the BB blurb claims, I felt like it highlighted every single flaw.
  5. BeautyBlender BlenderCleanser– A tool cleanser sample? Really? Of all the things to include in the Gossip Girl box, this was inexplicable. Because they spend so much time cleaning their own make-up brushes? I’m hoping to swap this for a different product.
  6. Birchbox Extra: XOXO Notecard- I liked the GG tie-in here, and the style of the card is attractive, but it drives me nuts that the envelope doesn’t match. The card is a red-orange shade, and the envelope is BB pink. Definitely sending those separately.

Out of 3 months, I’ve only had one box that I really enjoyed. I’m willing to give it another 3 months, and then we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

