holy facelift, batman

say hello there has a new look, and I’m completely tickled with it! I’ve been following Her New Leaf’s great series on primping your blog, and she has tons of advice for getting the most out of your WordPress template. If you’ve been feeling a little blah about your blog, definitely head over there and take a look at what she has to say.

Don’t get caught up in thinking that a blog redesign has to be expensive; or, in fact, cost you anything at all. Everything that I used was completely free. Gimp is my favorite (free!) design program, and with a little practice, it’ll do just about everything you could do with Photoshop. I’ve used it to designs all sorts of icons, banners, even my business cards. The background was a free pattern from Subtle Patterns, and my social media buttons came from this set on deviantart. The super-customizable WordPress theme is Twenty Eleven; about the only thing you can’t change is the fonts, which does make me a little sad. But the fonts for this theme aren’t too bad, so I’m trying not to fret about it 🙂

So what do you think? Got any great tips for redesigning your blog? Have you just given your’s a facelift? I’d love to see it- leave me a comment!

Leave a Reply

